Larklamp FAQ | Wisp in the Vale FAQ | Snyxtrap FAQ
Do I have to play with the Larklamp in the dark?
Yes, but it doesn't have to be pitch-black. To get a clear view of the board, the environment should not be brighter than a room during the afternoon with window blinds drawn. Darker is always better, and playing on a white or light surface helps (but is not required).
When will you release the next Larklamp game?
There were unexpected delays with the pandemic, but I am getting back on track in 2022. You can keep up-to-date on what the next games will be and when they will be available by signing up for the newsletter.
Why did you create the Larklamp?
Because life is a game of shadows! And as my children grow, I would like them to have a fun way to remember this from time to time.
How should I store the Larklamp?
Keeping the Larklamp out on a shelf or table encourages gameplay. It is not recommended that the Larklamp be disassembled once it has been assembled. Individual Larklamp games come with a storage box. Also be sure to REMOVE ANY BATTERIES if you are storing it for longer than a few months.
What happens if my Larklamp breaks?
The Larklamp is quite sturdy and should stand up to normal wear and tear. However, if disaster befalls your Larklamp, get in touch at email@example.com for replacement parts.
Wisp in the Vale FAQ
Does it cost a villager an action if they teleport the Wisp?
No. Villagers only have to cast the Wisp into shadow using a charm action to teleport the Wisp.
Can a player choose to pass (or not take action) during their turn?
No. A player must spend all of their actions during their turn.
Can a villager cross the river into a shadow space?
No. A villager can only cross the river by passing from one light space to another.
Can two or more villagers occupy the same space during gameplay?
Yes. Villagers do not interfere with each other’s progress when they occupy the same space.
Can a villager be woken up from sleep if the wisp is on the same space?
Yes. However, the villager may be in danger of being put back to sleep on the wisp’s next turn, unless they move away beforehand.
In Race in the Vale Variant, what happens when a player runs out of charms?
That player may only use move actions.
In Race in the Vale Variant, is there a way a player can get additional charms?
No. The number of charms for each player is limited to those distributed during game setup.
Can a player place a spell trap in another player’s field?
No. A player may only place a spell trap within their own field(s).
When the snyx passes over a spell trap on its way around the board, is the spell trap activated?
No. A spell trap is only activated when the snyx lands directly on it.
Can a player lay down a spell trap on the same space as the snyx?
The snyx must land directly on the spell trap during a different round for the spell to be cast.
What happens if a player casts a thief spell, but their opponent has no spell traps to steal?
The thief spell is placed in the discard pile and gameplay continues.
What if there are no more free spaces in a player’s field to lay a spell trap?
The spell card is placed in the discard pile and gameplay continues.
What happens if the snyx lands on a wild card that has been laid down as a spell trap?
The player in whose field the spell trap is located may cast any spell they wish. This is a rare occurrence because players are not allowed to lay wild cards as spell traps during gameplay. However, during game setup, it is possible that a player receives a wild card to lay as a blind spell trap.
Can more than one set of matched spell cards be played at a time?
No. Only one set of matched spells cards may be played during a game round.
Can a player choose not to cast the winning spell in a round?
No. The winning spell must be cast, even if it is detrimental to the winner of the hand. This includes activated spell traps.
Can spell traps be stacked on top of each other?
No. Only one (1) spell trap can be laid in a space at any given time.
Can the snyx land directly on a spell trap as a result of a field spell?
Yes and, as a consequence of this action, the spell trap is activated.
Is there a limit to the number of wild cards that can be played in one hand?
No, as long as the wild cards are played alongside one (1) or more spell cards.
What if the snyx lands directly on a second spell trap while moving from a first spell trap?
The second spell trap is activated. This continues for as long as the snyx lands directly on spell traps.
Can the direction of the snyx be changed when it is being moved or when a spell is being cast?
The only time the snyx can change direction is when a verso spell is cast.